Playing in the Rain – An Inescapably Claustrophobic, Diabolically Mind-spinning Ride!


When the effects of a hypnosis inducing drug fade, April slowly begins a conscious awakening. Memories of her past are unclear and she has no recollection of her identity or her whereabouts.

As the days slip by, April realizes there is more to life than existing when she is introduced to an occupant who does just that—her sister. The more she learns about her environment the more she wants to escape.

Will April remember her past, her sister? Will she have the courage to leave? And if she does, where will she go?

Experience through April’s eyes her struggle to remember and her determination to escape in this sci-fi, post-apocalyptic, suspense story.


My Review – 5-Stars

You awake in an unknown environment.  You can’t remember who you are or where you’re from, but you know where you are now is not where you ought to be.  You feel trapped, because you are. You feel alone, because ….because…You can’t remember why, but you know you weren’t alone before.  Before waking up whereever you currently are.
Lead character, A2, is in a facility called C.E.C.I.L:  the Contagion Eradication Center for Intelligent Life.  There is a man named Jasper there, who provides and controls everything, including the drugs she is being pumped full of, because ….because….she doesn’t know why.  Danger and mystery meld with confusion and hazy memories of a life she only barely recalls.  A2 meets B2, and they discover they were sisters, before….before whatever happened that brought them here….whereever they are, though neither know why.
 Jackson’s first book in the Escape Series, Playing in the Rain:  When All That Matters is Freedom pulls you right into the story from page one, slowly yet inexorably, leaving you as dazed and confused as A2.  Page after deliciously-mystifying page, you follow A2 and B2 as their situation goes from bad to worse, yet gets better and better.  If you love immersing yourself into a story body and soul, where you can end up exhausted from the remarkable confusion the author maintains chapter after chapter, dragging you and her characters along an unforseen path to an undisclosed conclusion while spinning in a web of intrigue that will leave everyone ensnared and gasping for breath, then prepare yourself.  This one will not disappoint you.
It will not give up its secrets quickly or easily, either.
Settle in and prepare for the inescapably claustrophobic, diabolically mind-spinning ride of your life!

A graduate of a 3-year Graphic Design program, Sandra J. Jackson has always been creative, from drawing and painting to telling stories to her children when they were young. Her wild imagination lends itself to new and exciting ideas.

Sandra’s debut novel, Promised Soul, was originally released in 2015 by her former publisher. A short story, Not Worth Saving, was published in New Zenith Magazine’s 2016 fall issue. She also has had several sports articles published in a local newspaper. She holds a professional membership with the Canadian Author Association and is a member of Writers’ Ink. Sandra’s second novel, Playing in the Rain – Book 1 of the Escape Series, released in September 2017 also by the same former publisher.

Sandra lives with her family in a rural setting in Eastern, Ontario. She is currently working on Book 3 of the Escape Series, her first trilogy.


Join the Discussion

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: